Instructions for filing Certificate of Business — Fictitious Firm Name
Douglas County does not require a Business License, however, in accordance with Chapter 602 of the Nevada Revised Statutes, every person, corporation, firm and general partnership conducting, carrying on or transacting business in the state of Nevada under an assumed or fictitious name or designation, must file with the County Clerk of each county in which the business is being carried on, or is intended to be carried on, a Certificate of Business: Fictitious Firm Name. The certificate must contain the following information:
- The name of the business
- The physical address of the business
- The type of business to be conducted
- The name(s) of the corporation or person(s) conducting the business, and the address(es) of the corporation or person(s) conducting the business.
The certificate MUST be signed by an officer of the corporation or by each person interested in, or conducting or carrying on such business. Signatures must be acknowledged before an officer authorized to do so (Notary Public or Deputy Clerk).
Upon filing the certificate with the County Clerk, a filing fee of $20.00 is required. If you need copies, for an additional $1.00 you will receive 2 stamped and sealed copies. The original document is retained by the County Clerk. If copies are presented to the Clerk with the original, the copies are file stamped and returned at no extra charge.
If you should have any questions, please contact this office at 775-782-9014 or the Lake Tahoe office at 775-586-7226.
If you wish to file the Certificate of Business — Fictitious Firm Name by mail, please send it, along with the filing fee to:
DOUGLAS COUNTY CLERK
PO BOX 218
Minden, NV 89423